DIY Wrapping Paper

So you may notice my timing is a little off with this very handy, money (not time, definitely not time) saving DIY because the gift giving portion of this holiday has already passed us. This is of course due to my inability to get myself together in time, life has been crazy recently but I find myself using that as an excuse more and more these days. Does that make it just an excuse or is life really just crazy all time? For me I would say it’s the latter!

A couple of Christmas’s ago I finally found myself with the Sharpies I had long desired yet (alas) I was struggling to think of what to do with them. This has been the best use I have found yet- personalised gift wrap.

I also save a lot of money and make some seriously unique wrapping paper that people seem to really appreciate but I warn you this is not a time saving alternative in the slightest. It’s the opposite but you will, I hope, have a lot of fun doing it. Don’t worry if you’re not the best artist, for some reason the repetition of the same shape seems to hide a multitude of sins! There’s another bonus- it’s more environmentally friendly as it isn’t printed with nasty chemicals!

Things you will need:

  • A roll of brown paper (got mine at Staples for around $7 I think)
  • A pack of fine/ thick sharpies or any kind of felt tip/ pen could do

Extras

  • Glitter glue/ glitter and glue
  • Sequins
  • String/ ribbon
  • Anything else you can dream up

    Choose your design, assemble Sharpies in a line 😉

img_3337

Start drawing!

img_3341

Keep drawing until you fill that page!

img_3342

I decided to gradate from large hearts to small and voila, now all you have to do is wrap that gift up!

img_3345

Other ideas:

Taco Gift Wrap!!

img_2782img_2785

Snowflake Seasonal Gift Wrap

img_3352

img_3355

Last year I had some (what had become otherwise useless) coloured string, which I used to tie contrasting bows around the snowflake packages. I also like the idea of adding some sparkle to the snowflakes with the some glitter glue. The possibilities are endless…

Leave a Reply

