The Camelbak- My Acne Cure

Nearly three years ago, at the ripe old age of 28, I suddenly had my first real outbreak of acne! At least I thought it was sudden but if I had known what I know now, I would know it wasn’t so sudden after all.

I tried it all, skin peels and ointments that surely must not be legal,  combined with trips to the dermatologist. I tried weekly face masks and steams, a few facials here and there.

I really do believe in treating symptoms at the root and also looked to my diet so I cut out as much sugar as possible and I rarely ate fatty or greasy foods as it was, still very little improvement.

Next to blame was that silent killer, stress(!) and lack of exercise, I turned to my meditation, yoga and daily gym visits. After little to no improvement I concluded it must be hormonal due to their timing and location being predominantly around my mouth. This lead me to even change my contraception to a non hormonal method, the  IUD which was no walk in the park of an experience either I tell you!

Nearly three years on and the answer, although you might say is a culmination of all of these experiments, is in my opinion simple. I was dehydrated. My father is an Ayurvedic chef and knows what he’s talking about when it comes to most things health related, he kept insisting I wasn’t drinking enough of the good stuff. I felt that I surely was but could never really say for sure how much I was in fact drinking.

I needed to track my H2O intake to know for sure that I was drinking enough. So I decided I would experiment by drinking daily, the very bare minimum of the recommended 2 litres, with the help of my new Camelbak. I even went to their site to check my recommended intake for my size but generally my intake now varies from between 2 and 4 litres a day.

I cannot express with enough joy via the written word how much of an impact it has had on my skin! I noticed an improvement after roughly a month. It spurred me on and by month four my skin is almost always clear and now even my pesky little forehead bumps, that I had resigned to having as a permanent fixture, have even almost altogether disappeared. I think it may even be having a positive effect on my psoriasis too! (Yes I have problems!) so do youself a favour next time you reach for that ridiculously overpriced beauty product and get a Camelbak instead!

 

2 thoughts on “The Camelbak- My Acne Cure

Leave a Reply

